City Boy?

I dunno.

Maybe you can take the boy out of the city, but you can’t take the city out of the boy. Maybe we’ve found that we need a little town with our country. Fact is, we now live in downtown Saranac Lake, and we love it. I love walking to shops. I love seeing the fireworks (New Year’s Eve) from our window. I love living in a walkable “Main Street USA” sort of village that has wilderness, boating, and hiking trails within walking distance.

I won’t be too overt location-wise, but we’re pretty much right here at the corner of whosits and whatsis. If I had my windows open, you could call my name from the library steps and I’d hear you.

We’re functionally moved in for now, and we’ll be completely moved in soon. (The RV/Cabin stuff has been moved, but we still need to get the really juicy stuff out of the storage unit.) Meanwhile, it’s fun to be buying curtain rods and pulling things together. Not surprisingly, now that we have a full-size refrigerator and freezer, I’ve become obsessed with freezing things. I think there’s an extra five pounds of mashed potatoes and enough meat for two weeks up in there.

Here’s a few more moving-in-week shots. Nothing’s finished, but we’re getting there.

24 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

24 responses to “City Boy?

  1. Nice! I like that tub especially. I can’t wait to read about your new adventures.

  2. Susannah

    Gorgeous apartment……glad you guys are happy. Saranac Lake is beautiful.

  3. Well since you mentioned it, I did a Walkscore on the library address. The score came back 92/100 – a “Walker’s Paradise”! You are in a good location!

    The apartment looks charming – just the right amount of Adirondacky-ness, without being kitschy. I’ve only ever driven though SL on the way to LP. Can’t wait to hear your adventures!

  4. BTW, Walk Score’s website is at walkscore.com if anybody wants to check it out.

  5. Marieadktricollie

    Just had lunch at Eat N Meet the other day which we frequent quite often. Love the owners, of course the local food, love the history of the old place, love the caribbean/bohemian vibe. Did our usual stops, Feed and Seed, Nori’s Village Market (which I love!), Motor Vehicles etc. Also drove past St. Luke’s & thought of you! Winter Carnival is right around the corner!

  6. Ahhh that sounds (and looks) wonderful. I wish i lived in a spot where i could just pull on my boots and coat and go to the market on foot. Or to the movies or the cute little corner pub, or the library…and to think we were thinking about moving out into the country a few years ago. The suburbs are far enough away. I am happy for you…

  7. hideawayhill

    I love what you’ve done to the apartment! I’m sure being able to walk in the village is one of the advantages. (Just got back from the Burgh and I hate driving in the snow in traffic. I wonder how I ever stood driving into Queens daily!) SL is a lovely little town and I know you will enjoy being there. 🙂

  8. Lynne on the Cape

    Wow!! Those bookshelves! That fireplace!!! Sigh… The tub!! I am envious. You found a great place!!! Wishing you the very best in your new home. L

  9. Sandy

    I envy your home’s high walk score. That is the best way to live. Probably less than 1% of Americans have that high of a walk score. I used to walk 3 blocks to the grocery store–could easily walk to the library, bank, downtown. Now I must drive everywhere. My ‘neighborhood’ of the big city covers many square miles. Most people in it live in huge areas of nothing but houses.

    Love your home! Now you have a winter home and a summer home, that’s great. Love the fireplace, windows, tub, woodwork.

  10. It looks so lovely and inviting! I know what you mean about being in a village. I’ve always wanted to live out in the country with lots of land, and hope maybe someday I’ll still have that opportunity. But I very much love my little village, too, with sidewalks and friendly neighbors and a 3 block walk to the grocery store, too. Enjoy your new home!

  11. Your new digs look super comfy! Totally charming. I know you’re gonna love it!

  12. OMG, I wasn’t here for a month or so and now I find you’ve moved into town! I can’t blame you – we always fantasize about staying in our cabin all year, even during the winter, but that freezing pipes thing is rough. Plus of course the expense of the propane. And like you, I am used to towns and cities – I do need some breaks from the woods. Congratulations on your apartment and enjoy Saranac Lake! We’ve been there and it’s a lovely town. And a short drive to Lake Placid and the Lake Placid Brewpub!

  13. Congrats on the move. I moved from my Quiet Country House into the village a few months ago. This is a good fit for me at this point in my life, and I’m enjoying the pace of life in a sleepy village. I look forward to your stories from Little A!

  14. The thing I miss most about my city house, aside from the space, is the claw foot tub. You are so lucky! Your place is adorable.

  15. Patricia

    Haven’t heard from you lately – well since you moved into your new home, no since you settled into your new home… Hope all is well with you, looking forward to hearing how it is going… I moved into my new apartment in July and am still unpacking some boxes and moving boxes into and out of the storage closet… Enjoy “the big city” living… I fear we have lost you to a Starbucks or some such place – I’ve heard people go in but don’t come out – they vegetate in the soft cushy warm chairs with soothing music piped in and warm tea – why leave?

  16. Tammy

    I’m sorry to see that it looks like you’ve decided to stop keeping the blog. I really enjoyed it. Best of luck to you in your new home!

  17. Nice place! Sometimes I think I’d like to be walking distance to stores, but then ….. I would hate the noise and people. But if you like it, it looks great.

  18. Cheryl

    I was wondering how everything is going ? Hope you will let us all know …

  19. Lisa

    Ditto Cheryl! Please post about your latest adventures, or non- adventuers. I miss hearing from you.

  20. Judy

    What has happened to our petite pins? Have you moved to Florida? Did you take up smoking again? Is someone else playing the church organ? You have us all on the hook.

  21. Hey guys? Is everything ok? I miss you…Love, mare

  22. Just in case you do check in…you are in my thoughts…You pop into my mind here and there, and i really do miss you….Hope all is well my friend…Love, mare

  23. I’m actually going to be out there “at camp” for a little over a week at the end of August, Mare. We just had the startling realization that we OWN a place in the country, however junky. We do love it there. Maybe we needed six months away to appreciate it.

  24. hideawayhill

    Glad to see you came to the blog again. I really thought you gave it up. I’m sure some “country” time will be a nice change for a bit. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

