Perfect Fried Breakfast Potatoes

I love all things potato.

As a potato (and breakfast) enthusiast, it has always pestered me that I’ve not been able to master the fine art of perfect breakfast potatoes. I came across a new  recipe today that seemed a little weird, but since the perfect potato has escaped me to this point, I thought I’d give it a shot. It worked. I think the whole thing maybe took eight or ten minutes. They’re amazing. These potatoes were so perfect that they freaked me out a little. Here’s what I did –

Chop potatoes small, about 1/2 inch maybe.
Heat about 3 tablespoons oil in a large fry pan.
(Enough to cover the bottom of the pan.)
Add your potato pieces, in one layer only.
Salt, pepper, I used a little Adobo.
While they are frying for 2 or 3 minutes, chop 1/2 a small onion.
Add the onion and fry all together for an additional minute or two.
(They do not need to brown at this point.)
Add four or five tablespoons water. I just splashed a good amount in.
Cover and cook on medium heat until spuds are soft & water is gone.
(Maybe turn them once.)
(They will brown as the water cooks out.)
Awesome.

9 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

9 responses to “Perfect Fried Breakfast Potatoes

  1. hmm, so the water is the key? certainly will give it a try. I too like everything potato and have the body shape of a potato. 🙂

  2. themac

    YUM!!!! LOVE the pic!
    (and you’re very quick posting this – Bravo!!)

  3. Wow. Those look amazing. I’m going to try this. Thanks!

  4. Herbs

    Oh, I’ve gotta try those. I’m a potato fanatic also, and my fried potatoes are always hit or miss. I love the idea of the adobo too. That stuff is good on anything. Thanks!

    Have a fabulous holiday!

  5. thanks! we’re a house of fried potato lovers- I actually generally do mine in the oven in half olive oil/half butter and with a fair amount of Parmesan cheese on top, but these look terrific!

  6. LOL – I’m making them for lunch with eggs and toast again today. Be sure to come back and tell me how they worked out for you guys!

  7. I told my son about this last night, now he wants to try it too! I’ll be back to tell you how they came out.

    Have a great Thanksgiving, Pines!

  8. These look amazing! I am going to try these Sunday morning! Thank you!
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Have a pretty day!
    Kristin

  9. daniel s

    I made these today and they turned out great!!! I am recommending this recipe to all my friends and I’m going to use it to cook my family breakfast on Christmas morning. 🙂 Thank you for solving a problem I’ve had for a long time myself!

Leave a Reply

