Beast Blessings

The Episcopal Church welcomes you, and Fido too!

This is pretty awesome. I’m playing for this service tomorrow, at gool ol’ St. Luke’s.

The corner of Church and Main Streets in Saranac Lake will be alive with woofs, meows, and perhaps even clucks when church and community members bring their wagging, squirming, wriggling, fluttering beloved creatures (two-legged, four-legged, no-legged, winged and finned) to St. Luke’s for a special service. (I have it on good authority – a snake and his human are attending, my dog Rufus will be there, a few cats I have the pleasure of knowing, and I’m told, a bunny.)

In honor of the feast day of St. Francis of Assisi, The Church of St. Luke in Saranac Lake will be holding a Blessing of the Animals service on Saturday, October 2nd at 5pm. Cats, dogs, snakes, elephants, parakeets, alligators, emus, lizards, chickens, plush toys, and animals of all stripe and color are welcome at a special service of music, a blessing, and prayers especially for them.

The service will be held outdoors on the church’s front lawn and large porch, weather permitting. Guests are welcome to bring blankets and/or lawn chairs. If the weather becomes a problem, the service will be held inside the church. A reception (with treats for animals and their humans) will follow the service. The Rector respectfully requests animals be on a leash, contained, or in a carrier.

(pictured – Rufus, the official photo)

1 Comment

Filed under adirondacks

One response to “Beast Blessings

  1. hideawayhill

    I love that picture of Rufus! If I were a religious person I might consider bringing one of my crew, but somehow I don’t think I can hang on to 3 dogs and a cat. LOL Have a great time! I’m sure you will have fun!

Leave a Reply

