Ricottegg Breakfast Casserole

Yes, Friends. We have yet another “a friend explained a recipe and I forgot so much of it, I ended up making it up” post. Today, Ricotta & Egg casserole. My friend Kathleen mentioned it, and it seemed like a perfect fit around here – I certainly have fresh onions, parsley, and eggs of my own, so for the price of a tub of ricotta, it’s a meal. You know how crazy I am about these one-or-two-bowl easy recipes!

Five large eggs
1 cup (ish) ricotta (the little container)
1/2 medium Onion, chopped
A little minced garlic, if you like
1 cup (ish) grated cheddar cheese
Spices to taste
Salt and Pepper
Butter

Preheat oven to 375F. Brown your onions (and garlic) and toss in the spices (I just used fresh parsley). In a mixing bowl, beat five eggs. Add to beaten eggs – 1 cup (I used a little more) ricotta cheese, most of your shredded cheddar, a little salt and pepper, and finally, the browned onions and spices. When mixed up good, pour into a greased 8×8 or 9×9 baking pan (I used Pyrex) and sprinkle the remaining cheddar on top. Bake in a 375F oven for 35 minutes or until it is browned around the edges.

Very successful! It looks great! I was going to add some broccoli to the egg bake, but my broc was from last week and it got fuzzy. You could include whatever small chopped veggies you might like. I think some crumbled sausage would be good too. I think there must not be anything better than the scent of home cooking on a crisp Fall Saturday morning, listening to Car Talk. Awesome.

In personal news – Ladies and gentlemen … grey in the sideburns. As we say in the English Music Hall, “Oy!”

You have a great day too!

2 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

2 responses to “Ricottegg Breakfast Casserole

  1. hideawayhill

    That looks wonderful and I will be trying it. Now all we need with your deliciious recipes is the nutritional info. 🙂

  2. sounds delish, Phill- TMI on the fate of your brocolli tho *~*

    gray in the sideburns? ha- I’m graying at an amazing rate of speed- but dang it- I’ve earned every one honestly 🙂

Leave a Reply

