Poulet Palace Renovation Day

And I do mean day!

I took down last year’s old wooden Franken-pen, which had been cobbled together over the seasons. Started as a fence, gained a ramshackle roof, ended up covered on one side because it was so ugly. That’s it in the picture below, hanging off the side of the chicken coop, behind the cabin. So, anyhow, I tore down the enclosure, and moved the coop. Took all day, but it’s done.

Pretty ugly back there. Plus, if I move the coop and pen, I’ll have more room on this side.

It didn’t give up easy – took about two hours to get to this point – but it’s coming down.

The pen is gone! And the only way to move the coop is by the tilt-flip-and-spin method. Notice the boards I put underneath as sliders. I also have it propped up on a cement block, because it’s so heavy, I can only lift it a little at a time.

Meanwhile … well, they had to go somewhere. The girls camped out in the cabin. Let’s just say there was plenty of mess, but nothing I can’t clean up. More mess than I wanted, but not as much as I thought there would be.

I think we can safely cross “wire fence building” off the list of things I have a talent for.

But now, they have full sun and plenty of grass!

The old pen, reduced to a pile of boards.

Now, doesn’t that look better? I have so much more room over here now!

And I continued the rock garden border right to their door. This will be awesome once I get some perennials planted on either side. Doesn’t every palace deserve a grand entrance?

5 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

5 responses to “Poulet Palace Renovation Day

  1. HA! the photo of the girls in the cabin is PRICELESS!

  2. LOL, I came to post the same thing as Sheri – that pic of them inside just cracked me up! The “ladies” looked so elegant in there. I can’t imagine the mess they left behind – very sporting of you not to mind. 🙂

  3. hideawayhill

    I have to agree….I think that one should be printed and framed!

  4. themac

    That’s motivation right there!! I love the new spot where they have green grass (for now) 🙂

    I hope your ladies are happy.

  5. Adktricollie

    The true meaning of “Free Range Chickens” adirondack style!

Leave a Reply

