Everything Old is New Again

Who recorded that old song? Peter Allen, maybe?

I’ve always wanted a wooden Adirondack chair. Except, they run $100 and up. Uh-huh. For a chair. An outside chair. Yeah, $100 for a chair is not exactly in the budget. However …

I was helping my neighbor build a porch onto her cabin yesterday. I noticed three seriously rotted Adirondack chairs on her junk pile. Says I, “I wonder if there are enough parts there  to rebuild one decent chair?” As a matter of fact, one chair had much less rot than the others. After bashing two of them apart, I found enough parts to repair the “good” one. Armed with my screw gun, nails, a hammer, a wire brush, two sanding blocks, and a few cans of “Classic Brown” satin spray paint, here’s the play-by-play.

Here’s One Arm Sally upon her arrival. I’ve already bashed off two of the rotten seat slats and replaced those. This is going to be a lot of wire brushing, sanding, and patching!

One of the other chairs had a decent spare arm, but it had a split through part of it. I filled the split with wood putty, carefully attached it back together with brads, and let it sit overnight to dry. The next morning, I sanded it down pretty-as-pie and attached the new arm.

Clean, sanded, and ready for paint! Now if only we could get some sunshine, so I can get the spray cans out! I tested the color on the dry part, but I need some sun to dry out the bare wood.

Hey, looka that! Not bad for say, three hours or so of work. There’s a good amount of rot on the bottom of the main rails, but the patches will last a season or two before I have to toss it or do a major overhaul.

Sweet ride! You have a great day too!

4 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

4 responses to “Everything Old is New Again

  1. hideawayhill

    Wow….you’ve done a fabulous job on that! Now….I have a house full of stuff that needs just a little restoration…..if you get the itch to practice, let me know. 😉

  2. Nice job! You get extra Karma-points for rescuing that chair.

  3. Keith

    To repair the base rails try a product called wood epoxy. I couldn’t find it on the ACE hardware site, but Lowes has a product from Elmer’s called Damaged Wood for about $15. There are a lot more options available on the internet.

  4. Thanks, Keith! I thought there might be a product out there that I could patch chunks of the wood with, sort of “rebuild.” I’ll get to Ace next week and try it!

Leave a Reply

