RV Maintenance Day

Yes, folks. It’s finally time for another lesson in Living in an RV.

Most regular readers know, we live in an RV (1996 32′ fifth wheel Prowler), and a small 10×14 cabin.

Fact is, RVs are (of course) not really meant to be lived in 24/7, all year long, and we’re at one year just about now. It’s a good idea to check things out once a year or more, make sure everything is up to snuff and working like it should. I replaced the pump during the Winter. The AC/Fan is in great shape. I’m having our propane company out to clean and check the furnace. And today, I checked out three of the remaining biggees – the hydraulic slide-out, the condition of the (euphemistically named) blackwater tank, plumbing, and the seals around the outside edges.

As for the plumbing, everything looks mostly okay. Except under the kitchen sink. A rail came off the back of the drawers, and bumped and jangled a PVC pipe around. We have a little bit of a leak. Nothing terrible, and no water damage, but I’ll have to fix it.

The awning needs a little repair on the outside edges. Easy. The hardware store has RV stuff, and I know they have awning repair tape. Other than the climbing, that will be simple. The electric/propane hot water heater seems fine, and it looks pretty clean. Microwave, oven, and stove are in good shape (if a bit dirty!).

Why is there a garden hose running through my living room? I’m checking and cleaning the blackwater tank. To do this, I empty the tank into the septic, run a hose with a nozzle into the bathroom, turn the pump off, and well … have a look down there. To our credit … clean as a whistle. (Well, maybe not a whistle.) But pretty much, not a spec of gunk or muck. I still used the hose and jetted it out though.

As for the hydro slide (the hydraulic system that pushes the side room of the RV out), all I really do is go outside to make sure nothing is in the way, go back in, and push a button to check that it moves and works fine. No real issues, it works fine, but it was a little sticky. Perhaps something involving the rails needing to be greased. I’ll look into that. This is what the underneath of the slide looks like –

As far as the caulking and corner seals go, I suspected that I needed to do a little work. And in fact, I do need to do a little work. I noticed it was damp in both corner closets. Didn’t think much of it, with the potential condensation from the cold and heat, but in fact, I need to caulk outside and seal some things up. I’ll get on that next week. Evidently, this is a “thing” with not-brand-new RVs. Ya know, corners get knocked, caulking pulls away. See how this corner seriously needs some attention? No wonder the closet was a little dank!!

And finally, in the neat-and-tidy department, I’m heading out to Oxyclean the rust stains from where we fill the water tank.

I fear I’ve turned into one of those dad-always-has-a-project type people. I was actually getting ready to use the phrase, “If you want things to stay nice …” Whew. Can I have my sloppy joe for lunch now? Awesome.

You have a great day too!

3 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

3 responses to “RV Maintenance Day

  1. I’m proud of you for making it through the winter. Didn’t want to be a doubting Thomas but I didn’t think you could make it all winter in an RV. I get cold in ours in the late spring and early fall. Have a great summer: it can only get better!

  2. We went through plenty of propane during the Winter, Allie. About as much as a house would go through per month. But, we have a pretty big furnace and it’s “central” with vents in every room, so it was pretty easy. The water was a little tougher, but we just filled the tank each day. No frozen pipes at all because all our plumbing is “inside.” We’ll probably do another winter in it before we decide what to do more permanently … now that we know we can! LOL

  3. Keith

    Somehow I missed this post. You might want to think about a carport over the 5th wheel to prevent more water damage if you stay in it another winter. It can be built on deck supports on gravel pads if you don’t want a carport in that location permanently. The freeze/thaw cycle is hell on flat roofs w/ little insulation.

Leave a Reply

