It’s Official

It’s Summer, I mean. Officially. I got my first fly bite today.

Hey, thanks for hanging in, Friends! I know it’s been a week. As I had mentioned, a super-busy one. Sitting in the piano/conductor chair for The Sound of Music has been a great joy! Super fun to be playing with such fine musicians, and for a lovely cast. One more weekend, over there in Lake Placid. If you come see the show, don’t be afraid to come down to the pit afterwards – I love visitors!

And, in big news, I am the new organist/pianist at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church in Saranac Lake! Awesome! Very, very historic church, lovely grounds, super nice people, awesome pipe organ. I’m thrilled. This trial go ’round is for six weeks, and then we talk about whether I seem to be a good fit. Suffice it to say, I’m going to be doing a lot of practicing!

Around here? You guessed it. Gardening. Exhausting, sweaty, buggy, wonderful gardening. I considered writing a four-thousand word blog post about it, but seeing as a picture paints a thousand words and all that bunk, here’s a few snaps from just a few minutes ago.

One of this year’s new beds – the annual & herb garden. I decided it would be neat to just mix everything up together. A little weird that I planted all the herbs willy nilly with pansies in-between them? I think it’s awesome!

This big spot alongside the road is going to be the sunflower garden – giants in the back and shorter ones in the front. I’ve always wanted a sort of sunflower forest, so I thought this would be fun. That was a lot of tilling! The soil out there was rock hard!

Last year’s perennials coming up nicely!

And, the standard photo. I figured that since I’ve used this angle out the window facing the cabin a few times, it would be nice to see what I see out the window as the seasons pass.

You have a great day too!

9 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

9 responses to “It’s Official

  1. Cool! Thank you, Small Pines.

  2. Nice work! I wanted to comment that I really like that little woven fence you’ve made there. Their proper name escapes me at the moment, but regardless… it’s so darn cute!!

    I like the mix of herbs and flowers….

    Not sure when to announce this, but it looks like I’m going to have to sell my house. But, I’m ok with it. It’s been a struggle and I haven’t blogged about it because someone at work reads my blog. But, I will soon, because I’ve announced this at work.

    At this point, I’m taking things one step at a time! Have a good one, Lynne

  3. Thanks! I do love the little wattle fence. I need to finish it up this year. It has some bare spots on this side. Hope you’re okay with the house issues, Lynne. Such a wonderful little place. I hope it’s all for good (or eventually good) reasons.

  4. Wow- I missed all the drama.

    You can really see all the work you’ve put into the property! Maybe, just maybe, I need to get off my butt and get some work done outside. Thanks for inspiring me he who I still secretly call Mouse in my head.

    Oh, wait. Raining. Can’t do it today! 🙂

  5. Everything looks beautiful!

  6. hideawayhill

    That all looks terrific! I must have passed your place on the way to Fish Creek Saturday, but I guess I missed it or couldn’t identify it.

  7. Adktricollie

    Pretty pics! Did you say black flies? Eyelid swollen, then got bit on my other eye. My hub & I (especially him) looks like we have a bad bout of the Measles. Just received my fashionable bug hat lol! May/June “the itchy season”.

  8. themac

    I don’t want to talk about bugs, so I’m going to focus on your beautiful gardens!!!

    My kiddo stills talks about feeding your chickens! Everything is peeking up perfectly. i have one iris blossom – I’m waiting for the other 200 that I planted. How about your veggie garden this year? I know you were disappointed when you had to pluck everything early last year. SInce my leggy plants are doomed this year, I’ll visit the Hott House for my basic needs: toms, cukes, and basil.

  9. a) I love the pansies in the herbs.
    B) congrats on the church pianist/organist gig. truly an historic church.
    3) I can’t wait to see your sunflower forest. I want one too. But, oh! the laziness….

Leave a Reply

