Anatomy of a Funk

I am no longer funky.

Being as we’re not talking about my musical career, that’s a good thing.

I am almost un-funked.  Do you get the funk, Friends? I really am curious. I mean, the nothing-will-cheer-you-nothing-goes-your-way funk. I think most people get this way for a few days or a week at a time. Maybe a combination of a misplaced moon and some impossibly human problems we’re intent on stewing over. I find it always passes. Me, I just lay low for a while.

You know what started to part the funky clouds for me? A lot of talking, and stumbling up something I hadn’t thought about – relative freedom. As a pair, we have no mortgage, no children, no life-long career jobs. Yeah, you’re getting the idea. If we ultimately decide that we’re not happy here, we honestly can go anywhere and do anything we want. Fairly easily. I’m certainly not saying that we’re unhappy, or that it’s even time to make a call on that, but options are nice. Freedom is good. The realization really did make me feel better. Started to clear the funk.

And anyway, I was starting to feel emotionally indulgent and spoiled. So, in the last few days, I drug myself outside. Really forced myself. I planted some lilies and irises. I put shovel in earth for the first time in over a week. I made an effort to chat with friends (even if I didn’t want to), as opposed to hiding. I listened to my favorite calming, beautiful new age music station. I lit a nice smelling candle. I remembered that eliminating ugliness is as simple as staying away from it. I got in front of the piano and reminded myself that learning new music is something I enjoy, as opposed to something I am afraid of. Opened up a big can of Funk-Be-Gone. And it went.

Wish I had a bit of real wisdom here. I don’t. But I do have some new lilies, irises, a butterfly bush, and a lilac. I figure that stuff is just as good as wisdom.

12 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

12 responses to “Anatomy of a Funk

  1. hideawayhill

    Glad you’re out of your funk. Spring will generally do that! 🙂

  2. Elaine

    Welcome! Glad you’re back.
    Elaine in Canada

  3. Adktricollie

    You can’t fake the funk. I have many misplaced moons at times as well. I can understand you completely, except I have a mortgage lol!!! Glad your coming around. Have a cold one on me! (Your twitter friend).

  4. I used to get the funk a lot pre-kids, and I still do sometimes. But, not nearly as much. Partly because I’m always busy doing something for the kids. Mostly because I don’t want to be funky in front of the kids- and I’ve learned that sometimes a good mood happens after you fake it for a bit.

    I love irises. I think mine are going to bloom in the next two weeks or so.

  5. i hate when that happens! My natural state is Pollyanna-ish, so when the funk hits, it is terrible! I’m glad to hear you came out the other end of it my friend…

  6. lois

    Thanks for this posting.. I am recently retired and at loose ends a bit… i get all worked up about the future and what do i want to do with it. I get upset and start into worrying and i know i don’t have TO DO ANYTHING but sometimes when your life changes it upsets the ‘apple cart’.. So thank for the ‘… relative freedom’ line that i can bring to mind whenever i start to worry. I also agree with the comment about ‘faking it a bit’ when helping others also helps ourselves feel a bit less funky!!! Un-Funked as you put it…..lois

  7. Sometimes life gets real hectic, and I go into a forced funk.

  8. Pamela

    Next time you are feeling funked, look up EFT. It brought me out of a three and a half year funk that I honestly thought would never end. I still use it from time to time, when I can’t quite catch my sleep or I need to do something I am nervous about. Of course, I had the best counsellor in the whole world who taught me how to use it and I went from thinking I would never be able to work again to working full time and then some now. It totally unfunked me!

  9. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Winter is so long in the Adirondacks you just start to think it will never end. Once the sun comes out and it warms up, life looks a whole lot better. I’m disappointed that I was unable to attend your show this week-end. I hope it went well.

  10. Un-funked is good. New lilies and irises are good too. Music is the perfect cure for the blues. It sounds like you are working it all out!

  11. Whew, glad the “Funk-Be-Gone” worked!! Glad you are back and feeling better, you were definitely missed. (((HUGS)))

  12. Whew,… glad the funk is gone. A nice walk in the woods does it for me,… smelling the pines on the breeze and I usually feel better. Or, if it’s winter I put on some happy music,… welcome home! 🙂

Leave a Reply

