A Seed Solution

Happy Sunny Days, Friends!

Super sunny here all week, and whether this is a fakeout or a true prelude to spring, I’ll take it. With all this sun, my thoughts turn to planting and digging in the dirt. I suppose that’s not really news lately – I’m totally crazy for the garden this week. However, the following is news –

I’ll bottom line you first – Hometown Seeds looks pretty awesome. You might remember our previous chat about the difficulty of finding non-Monsanto, non-genetically engineered seeds. Well, folks, here they are. Hometown’s seeds are non-hybrid and none of their product has been genetically modified. Good solid seed stock, and no sterile seeds. Save away. Bonus – Their website is clear and concise, easy to understand, and easy to look at. I like a tidy site. Anyhow. There’s a special going right now – check out the Survival Seeds page – Almost a pound and a half of seed in 16 varieties for $39.95. (That’s enough seed to plant 3/4 of an acre.)

My only quibble would be that the site uses phrases in the descriptions & benefits like “GMO-free” and “non-hybrid.” If I were a beginning gardener, I wouldn’t know what those things mean.

But.

Neat company. Awesome. They have plenty of annuals and perennials and such as well. Please do check them out. I’ll also put the link in my Homesteading links section to the right.

So there you have it. I’m going to be planting Hometown seeds this Spring. And if I can bring myself to do it, I might even throw my Burpee seeds away.

5 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

5 responses to “A Seed Solution

  1. Truthfully, I would be delighted to get any seeds planted this year…but I will gladly scamper over to the web site to browse on your say so.

  2. Holy reasonable prices, Batman!

  3. themac

    SP – how do I know if my seeds are from Evil Empire??

    GM – I know what to get Atlee! 🙂

  4. Don’t throw the Burpees away. Even if you don’t care for them, it isn’t going to change the fact that they exist and have already been bought and put out there. Check with your local foodbank and see if they can take them off your hands. Or find a novice gardener who is just starting out and hasn’t got into seperating between the GMO and non-GMO yet. Somebody at the community gardens or maybe a school project can use them.

    We may have ethical issues against the seeds, but they are still seeds and there are just too many hungry people out there to throw them away. Give them for a one-time use and then buy no more.

  5. Can’t wait to get going in the garden. We got our lettuce/radish/green onions planted in the cold frame today, and tomatoes, peppers, broccoli, and cabbages seeded in flats indoors. Slowly the season is coming.

    I wanted to tell you about a book on building–when you posted about building your cabin I was not able to respond. When we built this house 35 years ago, we relied on this one book and it proved to be a wise decision. Since it’s by a Canadian for building in Canada as I recall, its specifications should be perfect for you. It’s called How to Build a Wood-Frame House, by L.O. Anderson, and there are copies available through Amazon for as little as .01. I still have our very dog-eared copy. It’s a treasure and part of our history on this place.

Leave a Reply

