Dinner Diary: Easy Peasey Navy Bean Soup

I’m a bit of a cook. Call me The RV Gourmet.

I make most of our food from scratch, from snacky cakes and cookies to the actual main events. (Don’t get me wrong – I’m not above jarred pasta sauce.) I have a lot of recipes, collected over the ages. Thought it would be fun and edifying to post a good recipe now and then. Here’s Monday’s dinner. Totally a set it and forget it.

Easy Peasey Navy Bean Soup

2 lbs package dried navy beans (do not soak)
12 cups water
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 large onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped (or 1 tsp celery seed)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 pound chopped, cooked ham
3 cubes chicken bouillon
4 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoon dried parsley
2 teaspoons garlic powder
2 bay leaves
1 tbsp salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 cup sliced carrots
Combine all ingredients in a large stock pot; place bay leaves on top, bring to a boil. Lower heat, cover, and simmer for two hours. Add carrots. Simmer for an additional two hours. Discard bay leaves. You’ll likely want to add some hot water too it – mine comes out pretty thick, and pretty strong.
5 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

5 responses to “Dinner Diary: Easy Peasey Navy Bean Soup

  1. hideawayhill

    Mmmmmm….sounds good! I’m saving this one. 🙂 I love soup too, and one of my favs is the 15 bean soup. Ever tried it?

  2. I like anything with tomatoes and beans. Which jarred pasta sauce? We like Prego with mushrooms.

  3. hmmm….. so what time’s supper?

  4. I’m totally watching for the RV Gourmet on TLC next fall.

  5. Joanna – We really don’t mind most of them. Found a really great one (I think it’s organic) called “Victoria.” It’s astounding.

    Hideaway – Never tried the 15 Bean, but I’ve seen a recipe or two. I’m just recently getting into beans, so I’m cautious. LOL

Leave a Reply

