Little Houses I Have Known

As you know, friends, we’re on the tiny-house-hunt. Next Spring? Maybe. We hope so. We still have a model to go see at a local modular company, and I need to speak to a builder friend about the cost of a small frame house; but in the time being, I thought I would turn in my report on the other possibility, an Amish-built tiny house.

I really would like something that fits the character of the area. Woodsy. It’s become a bit of an “if it’s at all possible” priority. Funny thing being, we’d be the only woodsy ones in the neighborhood.

Below are some photos I took while visiting the builders. These are all a bit smaller than we would likely go with, but you get the idea. They’re completely custom, which I like. You can add, take-away, or change whatever you like. They are built to code, fully insulated, wired, and come with thermal windows and doors. (Those are all options, but of course, options we’d want.)

Pretty neat though. They can be put down on gravel, a slab, a raised wall foundation, whatever. I’ll be talking to our local codes guy in the next few months. A local friend had a slab poured (plumbing and all) and sited hers that way. We’ll see what Code Man has to say.

Take a look!

Above is the Side porch version – I think I like this layout better. The end porch style bugs me a little. Also, this version would be nice with the porch backwards – facing the yard. That is, the back of the house would be on the road. This one looks a little small. Looks like about 10′ wide by maybe 22′ long. Ours would likely be closer to 14′ x 36′.

End porch style. Still, nice. But I’d have to do away with those wavy corner pieces and the fake shutters. Faux touches drive me nuts.

Inside the door of the model above. Cedar walls and ceiling, electrical fixtures included. I’d have to do away with that standard-issue ceiling lamp though. I figure, if I get to choose, might as well be picky. Right?

Looking back toward the front door, same model.

Side porch model from a different builder. Built on-site with a taller roof, there would be space for a loft. However, with limited living room space, I don’t know if I would want a ladder coming down in the middle of it. Don’t really need it for sleeping because there would be a bedroom, but nice storage or guest space.

The next report will involve small modular/manufactured homes. My neat friend in the ‘Burgh told us that they now have a few pretty affordable versions with half-log siding and metal roofs. Hmmm.

17 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

17 responses to “Little Houses I Have Known

  1. OK,… now that I’ve calmed down … 🙂 .. are those walls insulated, and is that thermal pane glass?

  2. Yep. Full insulation (including the floor) and thermal windows/doors are options. And you can have the thing fully wired with fixtures and a breaker box. =)

  3. Can’t have basements here actually – in the valley, our water table is too high. We can only go down about three feet. Oddly, most of the neighbors are vinyl-sided. A lot of post-1980s houses, and the remaining old homes have been vinylized. Except for one or two shingle-style houses. Shingle is a favorite though. I asked about it – They’ll side these things in whatever I want.

  4. I like the side porch version–and the ladder to the loft could always be placed elsewhere during the day to get it out of the way.

    Carolyn H.

  5. PatsyAnne

    I was wondering where you saw this incredible wee log cottage… I’d love to check out their website or visit them someday… have you ever heard of the bow homes? a tiny one is a perfect small cottage for one or two people…
    Thanks and good luck with finding what you want

  6. Could you share the contact info for these Amish-built tiny houses? Much obliged.

  7. They don’t have a website or anything, and don’t really show up much in searches. Only thing I can tell you is Route 11 outside of Malone, in North Lawrence.

  8. Good to get idea’s. I’m guessing the builder friend is the way to go. My BIL is a contractor and that’s what he always claims anyway.

    No root cellar? shucks.

    So you’re going to put a house on the land that you already have?

  9. Mary

    Just wanted to add some “food for thought”:
    1. There are a number of companies making the “wee log cottage”. One of them is Better Built Portable Storage Buildings (Kansas). Their side porch model is called Casita. They do have a website and sell plans, I believe.
    2. For small house designs (stick built and ready built), two websites are wonderful resources: Tiny House Design and Tiny House Blog.
    3. Jay Shafer of Tumbleweed Tiny Houses sells plans for a small Victorian ( New Vessica) that is one of my favorites. With a first floor bedroom addition, it has 372 sq ft.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice blog and to include such great pictures. I loved the chicken tour video…screwdriver in hand!

  10. Oh i LOVE these! ALL of these…If Bill wasn’t in a chair we would be going for a much smaller house. We are talking about looking at camps this Spring! We would have to do lots of rehab once we bought a ready made camp…maybe something like this (but bigger) would make more sense.

  11. I love tiny house blog, but I admit, I have found that we could not survive in a “tiny” house. So, I’m looking at “little.” We need about 500 sf. We get visitors, I teach piano, etc. LOL On the same topic, I’ve actually found Tumbleweed and some of the other companies that do the sort of fancy, nicely detailed tiny houses WAY out of our price range. I remember seeing one for $40,000. Gorgeous work, but – Oy!

  12. hideawayhill

    There is a yahoo group with so much information in the archives it will make your head spin. You need to filter a lot of off topic stuff, but there are little house suggestions, plans, links, and so much more. Questions will be answered quickly too. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/LittleHouses/

  13. Hey, did John Warren just make a crack about my neighborhood with the “expanded single wides” thing?

  14. Speaking of “Single-wides”, what could be more “Adirondack” than an All Terrain Cabin?

    I think shipping containers could become the latest fashion in North Country design. How do we get the Amish involved?

  15. amy

    Good luck on your journey on finding the right cabin. I’ve drawn up a plan. It started out being 24’x24′. Every few months I fine tune it. It’s now 24’x26′. If you’re interested to see it for the heck of it…I’d be happyt to email it to you. It’s always fun hear input from others.

  16. I like the side porch one and I love the look of the inside (but agree about the light). If you have a loft, perhaps your ladder can be on a swivel type of thing and hang from the ceiling until you need it or you can have it removable and use it only when needed and stored elsewhere.

    I love lofts.

Leave a Reply

