The Tea Kettle Method

I had a little adventure on Saturday.

The water line froze. Went out to turn on the pump to top off the tank this morning. Frozen. Now, to my credit, the line from the well to the RV is warm and cozy. Not frozen at all. I did a good job. You know where it froze? Down inside the well! It’s a short length, and now I know where the trouble spot is. I can put some heat tape on it after the weekend.

So, the line is frozen somewhere. I am relatively confident in my heat-taping and insulating work, but better check anyway, I check the line from the well to the RV. It’s fine. I check where it enters the RV. It’s fine. Warm even – I can feel it. I turn the pump on to see if it is frozen. Nope. Only one choice left – the few feet just above the water, inside.

I disconnect everything and pull the line to the pump out. I bend it a little. Crunch. There’s ice in there. I don’t freak out. (Only in my head a little bit when I consider going without a shower.) I crunch the line up a little and turn on the pump to see if I loosened the ice. No dice.

I consider the Hairdryer Method. Nope. The well is visible from the road, and that would require me to stand outside in the 15 degree cold for quite a while with a loud running hairdryer. I settle on the more covert Tea Kettle Method. I grab the tea kettle and reach for the hot water tap … hold on a minute there, newbie! If I use water from the tap, I am using up what little water I still have. What if it doesn’t work? I take the tea kettle and a big pot outside … and I fill them with snow. Should I pour hot water in the line, or on the line? I decide on the line.

I turn the pump on to see if it worked. It did. And now I can go practice and learn the music I have to play on Sunday.

And I can even take a shower afterwards if I want to.

4 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

4 responses to “The Tea Kettle Method

  1. very clever, although I find that when you’re out roughing it a little bit, you find that you’ve got a lot more common sense about things.

  2. Whew! ….How are going to keep it from happening again?

  3. Already on it – bought some extra heat tape for that little run of pipe, and I banked snow around it to keep the top of the well casing more insulated. =)

  4. hideawayhill

    Always keep in mind where the nearest springs are……just in case.

Leave a Reply

