Discoveries in the Little Wood

Awesome walk in the Little Wood out back one morning this week! To me, this is one of the neatest things about living in the Adirondacks – “I have twenty minutes or so … might as well go check out the woods for a few minutes!” 

000_1956

A neat view I had missed before . Maybe I can see it now because the leaves are down? Great morning sun on the trees.

000_1944

In my head, I call the little marshy path “The Reindeer Highway.” Probably just a common doe, but I like to think it could have been a reindeer, flying in early for an Adirondack vacation.

000_1951

Evidently, we have some pretty aggressive woodpeckers! This thing must be beastly – that tree is about a foot-and-a-half wide!

 

7 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

7 responses to “Discoveries in the Little Wood

  1. Corky

    Looks like a Pileated Woodpecker.

    I don’t know if you have them there. We do here.
    They are HUGE!
    Look them up on line.

  2. Cool pics!! If you are lucky, some bluebirds will move into those woodpecker holes. We have a nest of them in one of our old trees.

    Stop by my blog when you get a chance. You won the drawing! 🙂

  3. likely a pileated woodpecker. They prefer making holes near the base of the tree. Though black-backed or even 3-toed is a possibility up where you live. The northern woodpeckers seem to go for the bottom of the trees more than the southern woodpeckers.

    Carolyn H.

    PS: are those chickens laying yet??

  4. yep, I’ll join the chorus and vote for pileated woodpecker. I have one over here that I see occasionally.

  5. reneé

    that first photo…amazing!

  6. I’m w/ Corky and Cedar, that is definitely a Pileated Woodpecker hole! I just did a post today on one “knocking” on my cabin – LOL!!

  7. Yep, Pileated Woodpecker holes. We have them on a tree on our property near Lake George. I couldn’t imagine what made these huge holes in this tree until I looked it up on line. Since I had also seen two Pileated Woodpeckers fly by one day near our property, I knew it was likely they did the job. They are amazing birds – huge!!!

Leave a Reply

