Sweet, Sweet, Endless Heat

Friends, the bulk propane tanks are in. Sweet, sweet, endless heat.

000_1886Yes, yes – Now you’re saying, “Now all you have to do is pay for it.” True. However, we no longer have to pay an inflated  $4.50 per gallon, and we no longer have to lug the RV tanks to the hardware store.

And I won’t miss the daily dance of do-we-have-propane-or-are-we-going-to-freeze. There’s a brand new 100 gallon bulk tank sitting outside the RV, and I’m glad for it. We’ll be paying a cool $1.99 per gallon, and they come to fill it for us. So you see, it’s all pretty awesome.

000_1884People are often amazed that we have a furnace in the RV. A real one. Just like in a house. I guess folks think that we’re in here with space heaters or something. Of course, I forgot about the fact that the propane guys would need to come inside to check to be sure everything was working properly.

It was a disaster in here! Stuff all over the place, dishes in the sink, and not cleaned in a week. As if that wasn’t bad enough, my sense of smell notified me last night that the (euphemistically named) black water tank needed emptied. I got up this morning and emptied it into the septic tank first thing … but a faint smell lingered. Not a horrible stink, but a stink none the less. This was all made particularly clear when they turned the furnace on. Oops. Ah, well. I take solace in the fact that this could hardly be the worst place they’ve ever installed. Maybe.

000_1889In the cabin, I installed a direct-vent heater that a neighbor gifted me. It’s only a 5,000 BTU model, but the cabin is also only 10×14′. I have it fired up right now. We’ll see how it goes. I still, at this late date, intend to have piano students in there. So, ya know … it was kind of a priority. The cabin and its heater have their own 100 lb tank. That’s the little direct-vent (through the wall) heater on the right-hand side. As I was installing it and cutting a big hole in my wall … I forgot that heat rises. (Duh.) I should have installed it lower on the wall. I’ll be purchasing a fan to put above it. Again, oops.

Now, if I can just get the rest of the planking up in the cabin and that last junk pile in the driveway gone, we’ll be in business for Winter.

3 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

3 responses to “Sweet, Sweet, Endless Heat

  1. looks like you are ready for winter and everything looks so good around there! you have worked hard.

  2. amy

    You got to love heat!!! Good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

