Chix Pix from the Stix

Ladies and Gentlemen … the girls!

They’re still a little wary of me, but better. At least they’re to the point where they don’t scatter when I walk up them. And I have picked a few of them up. They calm down after a feather-pet or two.

Nervous or not, they’ve made themselves right at home.

They figured out the roosts and were all up there in a row when I went out to open the door thing morning. And they seem to like their yard. Their favorite treat? Apples? Nah. Cukes? Nah. Green grass. They love it. Of course, they’ve already pecked their yard clean. As for the spare bale I had covered with a tarp in their pen … Their project today was to shred the tarp, sit up on the straw bale, and sun themselves all afternoon.

The Official Photo

000_1851

Miss Mona, Leader of the Pack and Ruler of the Roost

000_1844

Pick a Little, Talk a Little, Cheep Cheep Cheep
(That’s one of my favorite musicals, Carole!)

000_1848

14 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

14 responses to “Chix Pix from the Stix

  1. Of course they’re wary. They no doubt no you plan on poaching their eggs- in more than one way…

  2. You might want to trim the expanding foam stuff. It’s only a matter of time until they peck that, too. Might make the eggs weird.

  3. In NO time they’ll have the outside just right for their Dust Baths!!!

    Wendy’s right about the foam stuff, they’ll get board and in NO time start picking at it (Remember the Chicken in the Rain theme?)

    Bets…Marilyn

  4. There’s one in there named Shelley – right???
    πŸ™‚

  5. I have more than a dozen cardboard egg cartons if you would like them.

  6. So are you going to name the chickens? I’ll bet you’ve got a few “characters” in there – I just know there will be good stories! πŸ™‚ They are really quite pretty.
    (Oh I agree, the Music Man is an awesome musical, even my not-so-musical DH will willingly watch AND sing along! Occasionally out of the blue one of of will break out with, ‘Oh the Wells Fargo Wagon…” πŸ™‚

  7. Yeah, if there’s gonna be characters, a screenplay might as well go along.

    I discovered last night that “Livestock” of any form is forbidden in Plattsburgh. Too bad.

  8. Ooooh! Strawberry blondes! They are gorgeous! I’m sure their eggs will be deeeelicious! I’m envious!

  9. themac

    YUMMY!!

    When are the goats coming?

  10. Wow, they look quite a lot like my Golden Comets, but with a little more white. My girls started laying at about 15 weeks, so it shouldn’t be long for you. I posted photos of mine today at Roundtop Ruminations, so take a look!

    Carolyn H.

  11. Good thoughts on the insulation. It has hardware cloth under it anyway, so trimming away the hard outside is no big deal. And guess what? Now I have two Buff Orpingtons coming tomorrow. LOL When it rains, it pours.

  12. When visiting a friends farm in Vt I was very surprised when they gave me a bag of what I considered garbage to deliver to the chickens. It included watermelon rinds and egg shells. The chicken scarfed it down unbelievably fast.

  13. LOVE the colors on those girls!

  14. What beautiful chickens!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

