What’s That Strange Icy Sensation?

Oh. It’s ice.

I suppose the timing was not terrible, but … we ran out of propane at about 5:15 this morning, 31F outside. Suffice it to say, I got out of bed a little early. Mercifully, I had decided to switch to the electric water heater yesterday (we have a dual water heater), so I at least warmed up with a hot shower. And I promptly turned the little space heater on.

jeepiniceThis all puts me in mind of one of my personal credos – Be vigilant. I was not vigilant. I had a lot going on this week, and I did have that nagging reminder in the back of my head. I’ve developed a sort of propane clock, wired through and hooked to my brain. It nags at me … “You are going to run out of propane sometime soon.” I ignored it. This has happened before, only it wasn’t quite as cold. So, with ice on the windshield this morning, I was offered another reminder to remain vigilant. I think of events like this as reminders from the universe. A sort of cosmic, “Now, in case you didn’t learn the first time, let’s go over this again.”

S0, ayup. It’s time to start making sure the tanks are full. Time to finishing the skirting on the RV. Time to check the antifreeze. Time to go to the storage unit in Plattsburgh and get out the winter coats. Time to buy heat tape. Time to put the ice scraper in the Jeep.

We got an Adirondack Winter coming, folks. And she’s in a bad mood.

9 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

9 responses to “What’s That Strange Icy Sensation?

  1. Realized this week that we’re so lazy we never put the snow shovel away. It’s still on the porch!

  2. I wore a jacket to work this morning.

    Where’s my hat?

  3. themac

    You’ll learn to never take the ice scrapper OUT of the car. GM would agree.

  4. Oh brrr! I think it was 41 over night here, and that was cold enough!

  5. It has cooled off lately. The expected high in these parts for today is only 77. Brrr.

  6. Corky

    Time to ask for a bigger tank. You don’t want to be snowed in and they can’t get there when you run out the next time.
    Your tank should be big enough to last several months.
    Mine lasts two years here. I am NOT in the far north and I don’t heat with it but still…
    I feel better knowing we are covered.

  7. I still have an ice scraper in my van year round. Old habits die hard.

  8. yes, get the skirting up and then bank with bales of straw or something to cut the wind and cold. Cover most of the windows with plastic,… leave a couple to be used for ventilation… yes, and like Corky said,… get a BIG tank. I’m trying to get the last of the mowing along the driveway done,… and not doing a very good job at it. Feel like I’m already starting to freeze up!

Leave a Reply

