Ironing in the Shower

Well, friends. It’s ironing day.

By ironing, I mean removing the iron from my shower walls. We have a friend coming in today, and my rust stains needed some attention anyway. No time like the present.

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Adirondack Iron Water!

lucastub1.jpegIf you’re not familiar with the whole phenomenon, it works like this – Most of us in the sticks don’t have city water, and many of us have dug wells – which means your well is essentially a 15 or 20 or 50′ hole in the ground with a well liner. Drilled wells are much deeper (couple-hundred feet around here, usually), and cost … well, thousands.

Anyhow. We already had a newish dug well on the property, we have it tested yearly, and it’s always super clean – no coliforms (bacteria), no creepy-crawlies, and pretty darn acceptable … except for the iron. There’s lots of ore in them thar hills. (In the valley, in our case.) Ergo, without a fancy filter, we have beige water. It’s harmless, and this is all fine and good, except for the fact that it stains the shower. And it looks disgusting!

It doesn’t really build up in the kitchen sink, because it gets scrubbed so much, and water doesn’t collect there. The toilet, not so much either. But in the (plastic) shower stall where the water just sits … gross. (That’s not my tub in the pic – but mine was pretty close.)

ironoutWhat do you do to get the iron out? You pick up a jug of Iron Out. I could do without the noxious fumes, but it gets the job done. Funny, because it’s pretty sweet smelling coming out of the container. When you put it in the iron water and it starts doing its dirty business though – look out! Remember that smell from when you were cleaning and got a face full of ammonia? Similar, but stronger. Yowee!

I dump a pile of the stuff down on the shower floor, drip in a little water to make a paste, and wipe in onto the surfaces with a scrub brush. Honestly, you don’t even have to scrub. With the wet paste, the stains just disappear after a minute or so.

Jug of Iron Out? About ten bucks. A product that does exactly what it is supposed to with minimal effort? Priceless.

8 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

8 responses to “Ironing in the Shower

  1. Yep, hard water is just part of the Adirondacks. We’ve got a drilled well that goes down awful deep, put in by the previous owner. I haven’t tried this product yet. I’ll have to look into it.

  2. I don’t have iron stains, but I do get soap scum. My “miracle” product I love is those cute Scrubbing Bubbles. Just like the Iron Out, you hardly have to scrub, it’s so awesome. I definitely prefer to use elbow grease only as a last resort! 😀 Glad you found something that gets that stain out so easily!

  3. So glad I read this! That is a perfect fall weekend mini-project and a lot of bang for not much effort. Aubuchon?

  4. Kat

    I live about an hour south of the blue line and I’ve got awful well water too. Not just iron, but magnesium, calcium (lime) and sulfur. I ended up spending a fortune for a water treatment system. Problem with all those minerals in the water is that they slooowly chemically react with normal household substances and you end up with clogged drains, toilets, etc. every few years. Since the treatment system, my drains flow freely! Whoohoo!

    ‘Course fitting a treatment system in your RV might be a bit of a project. Hmmmm…

  5. Bridget – Ayup! Aubuchon! I’m sure they have it at Ace too.

  6. Isn’t it great when you find a product that works like it’s supposed to work? It happens so seldom. (Glad that really wasn’t your tub in the photo!)

  7. I’ve given you The Lemonade Award over at my blog. If “ironing” out the tub doesn’t deserve it, I don’t know what does. LOL

    The craft blogs and some others pass around a lot of awards. Don’t worry if it’s not your thing. I just wanted to honor your blog for all the fun I’ve had reading it.

  8. Hi again! I have the same problem (rust, rotten egg smell, hard water), so every few months I throw some strong chlorine down the well and flush out the system. This gets rid of the rust also. But you have to keep doing it every few months.
    I also bought some water tap filters that really clear out the water. I have tried both the expensive and cheap and it makes no difference. You might want to install a whole home one, I just never seem to have the money to do that, though it is only a couple of $100 or so.
    Good luck!
    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

