The Sourpuss

Well friends, Sunday was Pickle Day.

In my effort to be an official Back to the Land Dilettante, I’ve been canning – “putting up things against the Winter,” as they say. (Whoever they are.)

picklesLast week was Apple Jam. Just a few quarts, but with fruit picked from our local trees. Other than the (ton) of sugar, free food! I gave a few quarts away, and I certainly can’t imagine eating an entire quart of Apple Jam over the Winter, but I just might try. This week’s assignment is pickles and applesauce. (It’s at this point that I admit I bought all my cukes at the store, and a few apples to supplement the local haul.) Figure I’ll get four or five quarts of pickles and maybe two quarts of applesauce.

I have an awesome few recipes for pickle canning – Cinnamon Sweet Pickles (I know – it sounds weird, but they’re terrific), Garlic Dill, and Bread & Butter. If you haven’t tried making pickles, give it a shot. If you don’t want to can them, you can just put them in a jar in the fridge instead. It’s super easy, and the recipes out there on line are endless. Bread & Butter Pickles are pictured. (LOVE them!)

A fun bonus as I was boiling and brining? My favorite radio show, The Splendid Table, was chatting about the history of pickling today.

Happy pickling, Sourpusses!

6 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

6 responses to “The Sourpuss

  1. Oh yes, years ago I used to do all of that. Also made my own bread and butter and lard. years ago was back in the 60s. I do love the cinnamon sweet pickles made from ripe cukes. I’d go with a lot more applesauce. It’s a delightful dessert in the winter, snack, … or on the side with pork. Mmmmmm.

  2. Corky

    Next time you want to make jelly or jam get jelly jars. They are much smaller.
    They have them in at least two sizes.
    quarts are way too big I think.

    I make mine in half pints and only make apple butter in pints. NOTHING IN QUARTS!

  3. Yeah, I thought of going an getting pints, but I had a ton of quarts, and since this was an exercise is creating food on little or no money, I decided to go with what I had on hand. The pickles I actually like in quarts, because I’d rather have a few big jars sitting around, rather than tons of tiny ones.

  4. LOL! Pickling For the Small Family…someone should write a book! I got on a pickling/canning kick last summer. As a result, I now have a lifetime supply. I hope you’ve got more pickle-loving friends than I do. Looks like you’ve had a great time at it!

  5. I find myself using the other phrase: “putting by” — as in: “if I had more time, I’d sure love to put by these beans for the winter, since I am sick to death of eating them fresh right now!” My 16 year old self would be appalled to hear my 34 year old self use that phrase! (let alone that I’m considering taking up canning and freezing myself!)

  6. mary

    Anything pickled is good in my book but my favorite is to just toss cukes in some salty, garlicy brine and let them ferment. Yum. It’s also the lazy way to make pickles 🙂 Canned foods just look so pretty too, as evidenced by your photo. And I’m looking into these cinnamon pickles…

Leave a Reply

