Shades of Poe

“The thousand injuries of Fortunato I had borne as I best could, but when he ventured upon insult I vowed revenge. You, who so well know the nature of my soul, will not suppose, however, that gave utterance to a threat. At length I would be avenged; this was a point definitely, settled –but the very definitiveness with which it was resolved precluded the idea of risk. I must not only punish but punish with impunity.”

from The Cask of Amontillado, by Edgar Allan Poe

Love it! The meter of even his prose is gorgeous! But then, I’m a Poe Freak.

I was thinking of sealing my electric company rep up in my cellar wall and punishing with impunity (we’re still waiting for service), but I decided against it. Too much work. However, we did need to address an item that is sealed up in the cellar wall – the feed pipe from our well. Figured if we could dig down to it on both sides, we could pull it out and re-use it. Pretty cool down there. Very Poe. Did I mention there’s what looks like a big blood stain upstairs? There is. (Shudder.) Let’s take a trip down into the cellar …

000_1659

000_1664

7 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

7 responses to “Shades of Poe

  1. Kat

    I’m thinking the cellar is lots older than the house sitting on it…hopefully those log joists are still in good shape (not termite infested or anything) and can be reused for something. They look wonderful! Love old construction like that.

    What happened with the chimney? Did you get it down without incident?

  2. Thanks, Kat!

    The log-on-boulders and stacked stone section is the original section of the house – yep. Older than the rest. Near as we can figure, it probably went up when the railroad came through, 1870s.

    I found a local tow guy who has a hitch and is going to just go ahead and move the RV out of the chimney’s way. Then we can pull it out away from the house, and ya know … better safe than sorry. He’s just charging is normal hourly rate, and it will probably only take an hour. So that worked out.

  3. “The Haunted Palace” for sure.

  4. Creepy but fascinating! I’m kind of scared you’re going to find old bones or something in there… :-O

    I still feel bad you had to tear your garden out. đŸ˜¦ But glad you worked out getting the RV towed out of the way.

  5. Do you plan to reuse or sell those nice round joists?

  6. Pretty cool logs, huh? I’m planning on reusing them. We’ll see what they look like when they’re up. I like the idea of keeping some of the neat stuff on the property. Maybe a pole barn!

  7. Excellent cellar! Looks like my in-laws’ in their ca 1920 log home. (Their builder must have been old-school. )

Leave a Reply

