I’ll Huff, and I’ll Puff …

And I’ll tear your house down with a 1952 tractor.

And that’s just what we did. The tools at our disposal were a day’s worth of well placed cuts by my intrepid Genius Demo Guy, a 100′ steel cable, and a 1952 beast of a tractor. That tractor chugged. It pulled. It sputtered. It huffed and it puffed and it pulled our house down. The roof and the second floor, anyway. Don’t think I’m being totally flippant, or that I wasn’t scared. Trust me … I was plenty scared – twitchy all day and jumping at the least little thing. We managed to keep it all out of the road though, which did much to un-twitch me. But, honestly? Can we be candid here? The thing that made the whole enterprise worse was every single person that came by offering their sage advice. “Oh, you oughta do this,” and “Oh, ya gotta move the cable there,” and “If it were me …” Ugh.

But, we’re okay. Short and sweet post today folks … back to work. What? You want more information? No worries. It’ll be just like you were there … I got the whole thing on video!

8 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

8 responses to “I’ll Huff, and I’ll Puff …

  1. The loon-call at the end of the videos keeps surprising me.

  2. Jamie

    Was that snapping sound the cable giving way after the second story came down?

  3. Just about the time I was thinking to myself, “That was the fun part.”, the sentence popped up onto the screen.

    Happy clean up!

  4. The snap was actually a second pull of the tractor, pulling the roof a little further down and off, snapping the remaining studs. Cable was still hooked … My genius teardown guy had to climb in there to get the cable out!

  5. I imagine you are going to have a backache for awhile cleaning all that up! Its going to be so beautiful when its all done. Maybe Milt and Corky can get in on a little cleanup. LOL

  6. themac

    clap clap clap clap!!

    oh and …loon sounds.

    My video ability is a little low on the technology side. LOL – I need to stop by. With cake. Today.

  7. Marilyn

    Loved seeing the action of the ‘Walls Come Tumbling Down’…
    Clean Up has got to be the worse part…
    Happy Trails…

Leave a Reply

