Dream House

Does it take four years to firm up the vision of your dream house?

Yep. That’s why it’s a true dream house – I started collecting clippings immediately after our first visit to the Adirondacks. I thought, “Hmmm. We should live here. I’ll have to start looking at some rustic cabin books.” And here we are! Well on our way to the dream and our ideal house.

Wait a minute – House? Eh, maybe not so much. Dream cottage? Year-round Adirondack cabin? At any rate, I’ve been collecting magazine clippings, my own shots, and photos from friends for four years. They go in a three-ring binder, inside those neato plastic sleeves. With the addition of photos from our visit to the cabin-builders place last week, I think the vision is fairly complete.

scan_8916172545_1What do we want to live in? I see a 400 or 500 square-foot low cabin. It has natural wood walls, log or planks outside, maybe cedar finishing on the inside. Three rooms – living room/kitchen combo, a bathroom, and a bedroom. We’ll have the other little cabin for a studio. The “main house” is heated by a small woodstove. The small porch overlooks our little copse of spruce trees. It’s a low building, with a wooden porch – the sort of thing that easily blends into the evergreens here. Both inside and out, it looks like it belongs.

The pics are not something I would take verbatim. They create more of an overall impression. Ah, well. Enough talk. Let’s let the photos speak for themselves.

600_109_Another_shot_inside_Winter_House_BARRY

Photo_070909_001

000_1380

000_1386

7 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

7 responses to “Dream House

  1. I always thought I’d end up in some sort of Rustic accommodation in the Adirondacks. And yet, here I am in in the suburbs of Gettysburg without so much as a fireplace… and happy. But eyeing all those fireplaces with a touch of envy…

  2. Personally, I wouldn’t mind taking the photos verbatim! Cute traditional cabin.

  3. This all looks so beautiful… i wanted to spend a little time pretending i was in the Adirondacks with a friend…not sitting in the hospital…Thank you for your sweet post on my blog. Please do ask the trees and flowers for their Blessings for us…love, mare

  4. themac

    Oh, I’ve got rustic!! I should start my blog again… or at least visit you!

    Lazy Mac.

  5. Oh, I’m almost always here, Mac. If I’m not here, I’m over at the store on or a McDonald’s run! LOL

  6. You surely have the right idea in keeping your living space smaller rather than larger. The only real challenge to tight living quarters has to be the ability to get along with whomever it is you are co-existing with.

    You really should consider straw bale as a building option for yourselves. Although an Adirondack style cabin in your area is certainly more traditional. Even in the north woods where you are, straw makes for a wonderful, energy efficient and extremely safe home. I have a nice straw bale 101 page to give people just enough info to get their curiosity peaked for straw bale:

    http://www.theruralindependent.com

    Another site for you to peruse is “Small Home & House Blog.” Here is the url to this great site:

    http://www.smallhousestyle.com/

    One other thought…when I used to live “up that way”, 84 Lumber had some great little cabin kits. I don’t even know if 84 is still in business, but it might be worth a look for you.

    I envy you (But not too much) for living where you do. I went to school at Paul Smith’s College way back when and that area is one beautiful and wild playground.

    I currently live in the North Idaho Panhandle and this place ain’t half bad either!

    Good luck and keep up the great work with your web site!

    Doug

  7. Thanks, Doug!

    I’ve studied strawbale, been to both bale and cob workshops, and even built a few sample buildings. It’s just not in the cards for us, for several reasons. Doesn’t match our set of circumstances, and the long build time is a problem. Awesome stuff though.

Leave a Reply

