I’ll Fix Your Wagon

My wagon, technically.

Ever run into one of those things you have always wanted, always? I received a pretty awesome Independence Day gift. There was a century old wagon/carriage (technically a buckboard, I believe) on the side of a friend’s antique shop on Saturday morning. When I see these sorts of things, I generally toss away the thought immediately, placing the item directly into the “I can’t possibly afford that” file.

100_1213I wandered over to the store, to say hello, see what’s going on. And the carriage came up in conversation. And it was for sale cheap. Real cheap. (Well, cheap for an antique wagon, I guess.) I immediately hightailed it home and asked if we could afford my dream wagon. After a brief discussion, we decided that if there is something you really have always wanted, and you can even vaguely afford it, go for it. So we did.

And you should have seen us rolling it down the road to our house!

I am now the proud owner of a 100-year-old buckboard, and it’s sitting in front of my wattle fence. It’s a bit rotted out here and there, and the seat & cart are gone, but that’s cool with me. I’ve already started sawing and patching and re-bolting, and I’m going to put the whole thing back together and build a new seat & box. Little bit of repair, rebuilding, and some sanding and painting, and it’ll be awesome. I’ve already trimmed and filled the rotted end of the-things-that-go-on-the-side-of-the-horse, and reattached them.

100_1216

Awesome. And by the way, if anyone is more familiar with carriage/wagon terms than I am – if you know the actual names of some of the parts of these things (as opposed to the things-that-go-on-the-side-of-the-horse or the-box-on-top), please do enlighten me.

11 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

11 responses to “I’ll Fix Your Wagon

  1. Good for you,… and next? A horse? I always wanted a horse and will admit that I still do, but I think it’s not going to happen now. I like your spirit to go for what pleases you!

  2. OK, you are the second person I know that has purchased actual Buck-board stuff.

    Buck-board Wheels

    My friend also says, “I’ve always wanted one.” ??!!

  3. A horse – I wish. That poor horse would only be able to walk the circle around the shed and RV! LOL

  4. Elaine

    I think “the things” are called shafts. I also think what you have there maybe the remains of a buggy rather than a buckboard. A buckboard usually had heavier wheels.
    I grew up on a Manitoba farm and we used to have an old buggy. I only remember riding in it once.
    Have fun with it, I’d love one too.
    Elaine in BC Canada

  5. reneé

    this makes me smile
    follow your bliss…er…wagon

  6. A buckboard would be longer, too. What a lovely buggy you have. I have always wanted one, too. Oh, well, maybe MY dream buggy will come down the road someday!

  7. You want goats right? There should be no reason why you couldn’t change the harness slightly to fit your ‘soon to come’ goats and operate a ‘We-e-e-e-e-l-c-o-o-ome Wagon’: trips to town (the bus stop) to pick up visitors, gas free store runs, environmentally friendly fruit delivery, mobile farmer’s market? You could revivify the age old tradition of ‘ice cream man’ during the summers…

  8. Or it could be an excellent way to portage “The Inflatable Indian Girl”!

  9. Can you imagine me riding up 86 and Rainbow Lake Road with my canoe in a carriage, pulled by a goat? Awesome.

  10. Clip-clop, clip-clop, clipity-clop-clop, b-a-a-a-a-a–a…Yes I can! FYI, in the picture of you in my mind there are two goats (if not four) pulling the carriage, your better half, the canoe, a couple of spay rods, a picnic basket replete with ‘their’ cheese, your wine, and home made bread (of course), and a small non-electric hand crank ice cream maker (which of course your love is churning in time to the clippity-clop-clop) that will be floated behind the canoe to keep cold whilst you fetch the elusive rainbow trout for lunch. Somewhere along the way there should be some blue-grass playing in the background I suppose.

  11. Oh, almost forgot, don’t forget the alfalfa cubes for the goats to snack on!

Leave a Reply

