High Speed Thrills and Chills

Our totally awesome neighbor (who is a friend) has allowed us an easement to run our electric underground, across her property. Is that not awesome?! I staked out the supposed route of the line for her approval this afternoon.

100_0864Thing is, there’s an electric pole across the street from us. Knowing that the first pole you need should be free-of-charge, my electrician called the planner. Not so fast. The pole across the street is less than 100′ away from our property line. They say, “Put the service right on the house.” We say, “There is no house. It’s being torn down.” They say, “No pole for you.” Of course, they would be happy to install one for a $2700 charge, but that’s so far out of the questions it’s not even funny. (And for $2700, I still wouldn’t own the pole.) So. There’s a pole on the neighbor’s property, and turns out … it’s surprisingly inexpensive to have service run underground. There should be service here in two weeks or so. New Service? $1400. Upgraded service pedestal? $200. No wires hanging over our property at all? Priceless. That’s our neighbor friend pole in the photo.

Meanwhile, I starting thinking about internet and cable. I call the non-local office of our local provider, Time Warner. All the neighbors have Time Warner. I give him my address. “I can’t find anything.” I give him the neighbor’s address, who I know has Time Warner cable, internet, and telephone. “Nope. I don’t see it.” There is a long silence, and then the agent quips, “Well, good luck with that.” And I am totally not kidding.

100_0863So I call Frontier, the local phone provider, who also deals in high-speed internet. I explain myself and the whole no-pole thing. She still says, “Oh yes, we service that area. They would just bring it in from the pole next door.” I explain that we do not have a pole to put it on, and I don’t want one either. She suggests, “Maybe you could have a private pole put in.” I explain that I am not going to pay to have a two-thousand dollar pole put in for internet service, and besides, I don’t want one. She continues, “Maybe they could attach it to a tree,” as if a wire going to a tree is different than a wire going to a pole. Amused, I asked her if I got to pick which tree, “Because I have one that is pretty useless otherwise.” She said, “No, probably not.”

DirectTV, here I come.

Old Cranky Guy Next Door Report for Today – In residence, big time.
Crank Level – Moderate, but not personally aggressive.

Incident Report – Direct contact! Beat a hasty retreat.

5 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

5 responses to “High Speed Thrills and Chills

  1. Isn’t it fun when you talk to people who have no concept of rural living or of caring about your environment? I was not happy with the way our electricity was run in to our home when we finally had it installed after livig here for 13 years or so. But the alternative was to cut many, many trees and leave a wide swathe up our hollow. Sometimes the only good option is “none of the above.”

  2. adktricollie

    That’s what we have. Direct TV. Works well, although of course when there’s heavy winds/snowstorm there’s interference or sometimes goes totally out. We had a problem because of our very tall pine trees and the deciduous trees with the leaf in and leaf out dilemma. They had to add an extension rod to our roof. Of course, every scenario is different. Good Luck! Just remember for every one person you communicate on the phone with, there are ten people minus brains lurking behind!

  3. Pamela

    I’m totally with you on the underground wires. Some friends of mine had a whole chunk of wall ripped out of their brick house in the middle of the night when the pole moved too far in the wind. It was a huge palaver to get it all sorted out. They now have an underground supply running the length of their garden from the still not vertical pole and no more overhead wires.

  4. YOu have the best neighbors! And I can totally empathize w/ you on the internet situation!! I had 4 different techs come out to tell me I could have cable, and then the company said no – I’m more than 500 feet from the pole (I measured – I’m 430 feet from the pole) – but they still wouldn’t do it. I said how about if I pay for the extra line even though your measurements are crap? They told me no. So Satellite – here I come! πŸ™‚

  5. ahhh…. the good guys and the bad guys,… it’s the same everywhere. I considered satellite service too but when it’s snowing hard is when I seem to want internet the most. Decided to stay with the phone company although I’m not very happy with it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

