An Honest Man, At Last

We’re here!

Aw, yeah! Today … we’re Adirondack Residents. Today we unpacked the van, did a huge load of laundry, and took a trip to the storage unit in Plattsburgh.  And we even made the cabin look less like like a garden-tools-and-antiques warehouse and more like … well, something. All in good time.

The neighbors have been (predictably) wonderful, and we all went up to the tree nursery West of Malone together yesterday. So cool! We have some dinners together, a BBQ, and movie nights planned. And a game night. And a trip to the waterfall. And Bloomingdale Field Day. And some of us hung out with beers in the backyard today. And my immediate neighbor spent an hour walking me around his land and showing what would be good trees to transplant over to our place. We’re hoppin’ around here!

Seems like storage is not much a of a problem yet. Things are a little buried, but they’re stored. Do I have to have my wooly drawers immediately available to qualify as an Adk resident? I hope not.

I was a little worried about the change, but all is good – no curture shock or weirdness or anything. I’ve mostly been out digging in the dirt and planting for three days. Today I put in five trees and a bunch of perennials, and I hauled two wheelbarrows full of big road over to edge the bed. Been nice to have things to do while I wait for the electric to be put in and I can start tearing the old house down. Meanwhile, the generator and a new RV battery are holding us in good stead.

Ladies and Gentlemen, it’s awesome. I am sitting out back in front of my new trees with my laptop in a comfy garden chair. Super cool. Speaking of, it’s getting chilly. I’m going to go in. I’ll get some pics of all the new trees and plants tomorrow. Time being, here are a few snaps from around the old place today.

100_0715

My very own Apple Tree!

100_0711

I like my garden hoses neat and tidy. That’s our well.I tossed a sump down down into it and I plug it into the generator for water.

100_0697

Dog on the Go

100_0719

An Adirondack Sunset

13 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

13 responses to “An Honest Man, At Last

  1. May God bless you in your new place – you are wished much happiness in your “new life” in your new digs! Congrats Country Mouse!!

    Sigh. I am soooooooooooo jealous!!!!! 😀

  2. reneé

    yea! and congratulations! and awesomeness! and i hope you take a few days to just relax!
    🙂

  3. Anonymous

    Be well and happy! Reading your blog, as I have been for the last year or 2, I feel like I’m watching a reality TV show. I love the Adks and understand your excitement, which I’m vicariously sharing.

  4. You have great neighbors! Sounds like a fun bunch to hang with! Loved your sunset photo – wishing you many more beautiful sunsets in your new home!

  5. Blessings upon you both in your new home. Your very own apple tree–that says it all.

  6. Hi! I found your blog a few days ago, and just wanted to say how happy and excited I am for you all in your move out to the country!! Congratulations!! 🙂

  7. lilly

    Welcome prayers are being said by everyone and good luck with your new endevor. I’m sure you will have some moments but they will not last and you will be back on the joyous road of your move to a new location and home,

  8. It has been great following you on your trip to adk resident! love the pictures (rufus!) and wishing you an awesome summer.

  9. Yay! welcome! Glad you have such great neighbors. Makes it just *that* much better, eh?

  10. whew! glad “it” is over and you are settling in here at home. Welcome!

  11. Congratulations!

    Does Rufus like the picture on his driver’s license? Because I always hate mine.

  12. Congrats! So glad you’re home! Rufus looks wonderful. I hope you enjoy every minute of your new life!

  13. How wonderful to be finally HOME …. it’s it an awesome feeling? And never will you go back to the “other” spot, but glory in your wonderful views forever.

Leave a Reply

