The Penultimate

I’m a reasonably intelligent adult, and I like to think I have a handle on Murphy’s Law. (Okay, not always.)

100_0617All the same, I am doing the pseudo-final clear out in the city house this week … one week early. Because I know that no matter how done I think I am, we’ll get to next week and something won’t be done. Or I’ll have forgotten a task. Or we’ll not have done the Salvation Army drop-off yet. Or something won’t fit in the final load North.

I think years of live theatre have taught me that if you do not have everything planned down to the last stitch, you’re probably going to end up in trouble. In other words, if something can go wrong, it will.

In addition to being a Packing Paranoid, I simply love it when a plan comes together! And we’re so close to it coming together! I’m trying to get everything non-essential in the van this weekend.

  • Living Room – Done, except a TV left to take out
  • Music Room – Done, nothing left.
  • Dining Room – Done, nothing left
  • Bathroom – Done, only a bag of essentials left
  • Kitchen – Bug Out Box waiting, otherwise nothing left
  • Bedroom – Deal with clothes, toss computer desk
  • Hallway – Bookcase has to go out, about 80% empty
  • Closets – Three empty, one in the bedroom with some clothes
  • Office – A mess. Stuff still to clear and three bookcases to go out

I’ve put a box in each room marked “Bug Out Box.” We’ll just toss the few remaining essential things in the Bug Out Box, stick ’em in the van on the way out the door, and we’re done. Looking pretty empty in here. Bit by bit. Hard to believe that in a week I’ll be writing about planting trees, working on the property, and being an Adirondack resident.

So, it goes well. I’m not too too freaked out about the remaining stuff. I have three days. And then I have a week. I love double deadlines!


9 Comments

Filed under adirondacks

9 responses to “The Penultimate

  1. Take time to breathe,… a walk around the neighborhood, … go out for a meal,… say goodbye and come on home!

  2. Wow! Its down to just days. I am so excited for you guys.

  3. Wow, it’s looking empty! I can imagine how you feel–excited and stressed at the same time. But you’ll get to your property at the best time of year.

  4. LACEY

    UHAUL SELLS OUT THEIR OLD USED TRUCKS. MY FRIENDS WERE GETTING READY TO MOVE AND SINCE IT WAS GOING TO COST THEM SO MUCH SINCE THEY WERE MOVING FAR THEY DECIDED TO BUY A USED UHAUL TRUCK AND IT HAS WORKED WONDERS FOR THEM. JUST THOUGHT I WOULD SHARE

  5. lilly

    My Goodness girl you sure have been busy. One of our grandaughters lives in NYC. She is a teacher at the university . Loves it there. Her and her boyfriend live in Astoria. Don’t know what that area is like but I still think think the Adirondacks is the way to go. Bless you and your family. Wish I was there with you. Lilly

  6. You sound well organized! The countdown begins…..

  7. Getting closer! Bet your heart is just beating pitty-pat with excitement. I know the feeling – when we finally moved down here I was so excited I cried for days!!!

    Good luck with the rest of the move.

Leave a Reply

