The Schedule

We’re exactly two months from being Adirondacked. And that, my friends, is moderately horrifying.

You know that point where you’re getting ready to embark on something huge, and no matter how much planning you have done, it feels like you will never have enough time? That’s now. April has dawned, and that leaves two months until Adirondack Bugout. I suppose the thing that is making this all feel so perilous is the fact that all of the big-ticket projects have to be done in the next eight weeks … and I am sweating it!

  • April 20 – Call National Grid and have the meter removed
  • April 24 – Drive to North Carolina to bring the Jeep home
  • April 27 – Call to schedule the house demolition
  • May 16 – Take a Jeep-load of stuff North
  • May 17 – Return to NYC
  • May 18 – Call National Grid to have new meter installed
  • May 20 – Stop at RV dealer, head north, clear out house
  • May 21 – House demolition begins
  • May 23 – RV delivered and set up/Party with neighbors
  • May 25 – Back to the city for a wedding (!)
  • May 30 – Take another Jeep-load North
  • May 31 – Return to NYC
  • June 4 – Farewell party at our friends’ bar in NYC
  • June 5 – Back to the Adirondacks … for good

Of course, in-between all of this, we still have our jobs to go to, I am rehearsing a musical (two, actually), and we have a whole house to cull and pack. And we’ll have a dog with us on all of these trips. Needless to say, I expect there will be some fairly hilarious and epic blog posting during the month of May.

As for that friend’s wedding that falls right in the middle of our plans – that marriage better last!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “The Schedule

  1. Corin

    Oh wow! Good Luck. Just keep thinking of how calm and peaceful it will be say……around September????? Looking forward to reading about your adventures.

  2. Marie

    I know the feeling. My husband and I bought a small home in the daks a few years ago and we are currently leaving our apartment in NJ and moving to the daks fulltime. As matter of fact, we are picking up the budget moving truck on Monday and I will follow in the car with our dog on the way up. We will officially be living in the daks starting Tuesday. Lots of work, stress and worry but we love it here and hopefully it all works out! Good luck to you and really enjoy your website!

  3. I love that Adirondacked is a verb!

  4. OIY! What a MONTH!(or two or three) But whenever i have a time period that threatens to suffocate me, i try to make a list, not over think it or worry about what might happen…i just keep my head down, do what the list tells me to do every day, and repeat this to myself over and over~ This too shall pass…and…Tomorrow morning when i wake up, it will all be over (until the next thing on the list comes up! πŸ˜‰ Believe me, it is the only way to survive it all my friend….But from where i am standing (well…sitting really) I am SO excited and happy for you. I know you can do it!

  5. Exciting and fun! I’m sure May 23 will be especially exciting having your RV set up! Do you already know your neighbors pretty well? You may need to buy a bottle of champagne to celebrate! I was going to say crack it on the RV – but changed my mind – crack it on a tree for good luck!

  6. We’ll be waiting with a bottle of “bubbly” for you!

  7. Wow, it’s not easy getting Adirondacked. I suppose you are used to the dog by now. The dog is getting Adirondacked too.

    I guess I’ve already been, and continue to work on an ever higher level of ‘dackness.

    It’s also kind of cool to think that someone else might be doing the exact opposite. UnAdirondacking.

  8. UnAdirondacking – Hmm. Interesting. Maybe there is someone right now getting “Brooklyned.”

  9. Oh, I can’t wait! This is going to be so much fun…as long as I’m not having to lug the boxes. πŸ™‚

  10. I think I may have gone through unAdirondacking. It was really quite painful. Especially the month of August. Still painful in August. Not so painful in January though.

  11. I looked those dates over and didn’t see “The Donnelly’s Meet-Up” anyway. Did it slip your mind with everything else on your plate?

    And, when’s the home warming party?

    All business and no play?
    That’s not the Adirondack way!

  12. Lots to do-but it’ll be sooo worth it!!

  13. littlehouseonthegreatflats

    So I’ve been semi-following your plans since you commented on my blog…and I have to ask, how are you doing all of this? I’m so jealous. Do you have money saved? Will you be working still from your new place? Please point me in the right direction so I can catch up on the details πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

