Jeeped

Wild Bill is my hero.We just bought a maroon 1989 Jeep Cherokee Limited!

All is in great shape – perfect leather interior, power options all good, new injectors and fuel pump, brand new 31 snow/mud tires. It has a little wear on the clear coat of the paint and it has a cut-off issue sometimes, but we got it for a great price, so we have plenty of money left over to fix that. Wild Bill is on the case already. BlueBook/NADA values it at $4k to $11k, so we did pretty well. We paid much less than that. Exactly what we wanted – nice tough ride, good for our terrain/ice/snow, and great for hauling. And it has a rack for that canoe (that I don’t own yet). I’ll have some more pics coming soon, but for the time being, here the official glamour shot –

jeep1

First car in over 15 years. Weird? Nah, not in the city. We’re certainly not in the minority – most people in New York City don’t own cars. Generally, we all do pretty well. However, being carless does sometimes have its downside. With the advent of a new-to-us car and some of the other neat things that will be happening in the next few months, I thought it would be fun to post Some of the Things We Will Not Miss.

I will not miss the Albany Bus Station on the Adirondack Trailways line.
I will not miss needing an act of congress and a rental car to travel anywhere.
I will not miss trekking to CT to save on the NYC rental car rates.
I will not miss having to carry home giant items from Lowe’s on the subway.
Most of all, I will not miss rolling my groceries home in my granny cart.

So, from the list of big dramatic steps to our Adirondack move – two down, three to go.

Buy a Sizable RV
Buy a 4×4, Preferably a Jeep

Tear Down the Old Horror House
Get-Rid-of and Pack Up
Move

Of course, our beautiful 4-wheeling baby is still down south. Gotta go pick ‘er up. Ah, well. Seems as if one more rental car trip is in our future. That’s okay – I’d been wanting to visit the goats anyway.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Jeeped

  1. Congratulations on your new “baby!”

  2. The Albany bus station is totally sketchy!! The many hours of my life that I’ve been there, I usually just stayed in my own little world and didn’t look at anyone. Once someone talked to me and I pretended I was deaf. It worked!

  3. ditto on that Albany bus station. yikes.

    And congrats on making the leap! Hope the spring is good to us and makes a proper welcome for you.

  4. Woohoo…major congrats! I already summed up pretty much everything in the email. (What did you think of that video?) That said, there’s one more thing…

    You don’t have a car (or a truck, SUV, etc.).

    You have a Jeep. 🙂

  5. Yea for your new Jeep!! Congrats! You are knocking down your list. Hey – I just noticed you have a zazzle store too! I’m off to check it out! (Mine is http://www.zazzle.com/shellmart)

  6. Marilyn

    Glad to hear there’s another one off your list!!! Ya did Good…I didn’t know that rates were cheaper for rentals here in Ct…But then again I’m amazed when I go into the city for the day and have a ‘SIMPLE’ lunch!!!! $$$$$ Maybe we’ll brown bag it next time…
    Have a GREAT weekend…

  7. Woo-HOO! You done good!

Leave a Reply

