Bought and Paid For

We drove up to visit our salesmen at Alpinhaus in Central New York State today, and completed the deal – we are now the owners of a 1995 31′ Fleetwood Prowler Fifth Wheel RV.

100_0090We offered just above the Bluebook value (because it is in pristine condition), and they accepted without drama. We went through the thing with a fine tooth comb before we signed – crawling over, under, and on. Absolutely immaculate. There are no signs that anyone ever even used the thing. A little wear on the awning, but that’s it. I’m convinced it sat in a garage most of it’s life. It’s even spotless underneath. The condition is amazing. There will be a dealer check (with us present) on all the mechanicals before it is delivered to the Adirondacks. Should you have ever wondered exactly what I look like, here’s a photo we took while I was checking out the chassis. What? You wouldn’t recognize me?

I have to admit, it was a little exciting to turn on the air conditioning, the furnace, the fridge, the stove. We were thrilled to a stupid degree about the stereo that switches speakers from room to room and to outside the RV, and I have an unnatural love for the kitchen. Also love the fact that there are lamps everywhere. I’m kind of into the outdoor shower/wash-off station too. The pink carpet and those vintage-1996 Trump-esque gold stripes may have to go. 

Space wise, the RV is about 290 square feet, and then we have another 140 square feet in the (mostly) heated cabin, about 430 square feet living space total. The only real sizable piece of furniture we’ll retain is my piano, and that will go in the cabin. We’re just about halving our living space. Oddly enough, we’re actually gaining kitchen counter and cabinets – our NYC apartment is relatively large, but very little cabinet space.  

Also on the plus side, we have a good amount of storage space – lots of hatches under the RV, and a 3′ loft I built over half the cabin. Don’t know what I’m going to do with the lawn mower, but I think we’ll be fine. We’ve lived in smaller. (Have you ever seen a NYC studio apartment?!)

Not much more to report I guess, other than we really like the thing. I’ve named her “Tin Lizzie.” Here are a few parting shots from the day. Don’t hate her because she’s beautiful. Tin Lizzie loves you, and only wants your love in return.

 

100_0081

100_0076

100_0085

100_0095

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Bought and Paid For

  1. one suggestion. a freind of mine lives in a 5th wheel and he built a deck right off the main door because his experience was that the steps mounted on the thing are small and makes entry and exit a little awkward. looks like you found a diamond in the rough.

  2. It’s so fun to have a new toy. Especially life-changing ones.

    Congratulations!

  3. Congrats! Wow, it looks beautiful and very comfy – what a lucky find to find a barely-used fifth wheel – excellent! Best of luck with it!

  4. Yay you! You done good! Can’t wait to hear all the stories of moving in and settling down.

    I kinda like the pink carpet.

    I’m sorry.

  5. Ahhhhh,…. sending love to “Lizzie”…. she’s looking great. Rear kitchens provide a lot of counter and cupboard space. And you maintain an “upstairs” for bedroom privacy. I like the suggestion of a deck. Not a big deck, not a big expense but providing a lot of convenience. How did the awning go up and down?

  6. Awning and the hot water heater drain plug were the only minor issues. *Tiny* leak on the plug, but that’s an easy fix. The awning has a broken springy-latch thing on one of the three rods. (Big awning, so it has three rods.) I honestly not too worried about it. I told them that I noticed it and we’d worry about it at the delivery walkthrough.

  7. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I LOVE Tin Lizzie! (i also love pink so…) This is so exciting! Which Alpinhaus did you go to? I live real close to both Saratoga Springs and Clifton Park…I am SO happy for you!

  8. Mare – We were at the one over in Amsterdam. We actually thought about stopping by The Paper Sparrow when we got out, but you know how those things go. It took far longer than we thought, and then we had to drive back to the city.

  9. I think Tin Lizzie is going to bring you a lot of great memories! Now since you have her and your cabin – how will you use each of them? Is Tin Lizzie mostly for sleeping andl living? IF so, what will the cabin be used for?

  10. The cabin will actually be a library and small music room, guest room upon occasion. It’s pretty small. We have a ton of books that will need to go somewhere, and I have a piano. Probably best not to put it in the RV, LOL.

  11. Congratulations! I also think a small deck would be wonderful. Sorry I haven’t been around. Busy painting a black dog white. You know, the usual.

  12. Congratulations! You are going to have such fun times with this! Can’t wait to start reading about them! blessings,Kathleen

  13. Tin Lizzie is so cool! Campers have way more storage space than I have in my house.

Leave a Reply

